APC writes Saraki, Dogara on N’Assembly leadership crisis


The National Chairman of the All Progressives
Congress, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, on Tuesday
wrote the Senate President, Bukola Saraki, and the
Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu
The chairman, in separate letters to Saraki and
Dogara, presented the party’s position on the
principal officers of the Senate and the House.
In the letter to Dogara, the party presented, Femi
Gbajabiamila (South-West) as the House Leader;
Ado Doguwa (North-West) as deputy leader;
Mohammed Monguno (North-East) as chief whip;
and Pally Iriiase as deputy chief whip.
Senator Ahmed Lawan (North-East) was picked as
Majority Leader; Prof. Sola Adeyeye (South-West)
as chief whip; George Akume (North-Central) as
deputy Majority Leader and Abu Ibrahim (North-
West) as deputy chief whip.
Meanwhile, eight APC governors on Tuesday met
behind closed doors with Odigie-Oyegun, in a bid to
resolve the impasse in the National Assembly.
Legislators on the party’s platform in the National
Assembly have been unable to agree on the choice
of persons to occupy the positions of Senate
Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader, Senate
Majority Whip and Deputy Majority Whip.
These positions are normally the exclusive
preserve of the majority party.
It was learnt that Odigie-Oyegun was presiding
over a meeting of the party’s National Working
Committee when the governors came into the
party’s National Secretariat and asked to meet
with him in his office.
The governors, who met with the chairman are
Adams Oshiomhole (Edo), Tanko Al-Makura
(Nasarawa), Mallam Nasir el-Rufai (Kaduna), Rauf
Aregbesola (Osun), Abubakar Sani Bello (Niger),
Senator Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo), Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi)
and Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa).
Details of what transpired behind closed doors
were sketchy as of the time of filing this report but
it was learnt that the governors asked the
chairman to step up and take charge of the
situation in the National Assembly before it
consumes the party.
A party leader privy to the meeting said, “The
chairman was told to restore sanity into the party.
He was told to ensure that those who stood with
the party during the recent elections into
leadership positions in the National Assembly were
not disenfranchised.
“I believe it was based on this that the party has
written an official letter to the Senate President and
the Speaker on the need for them to respect the
party by making sure that Lawan and Gbajabiamila
are treated fairly. By this, the party means that the
two should be given the positions of Majority
Leaders in the Senate and the House of
Representatives respectively.”
There were rumours that the governors met with
the chairman to demand for his resignation.
When contacted, the National Publicity Secretary of
the APC, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, said, “I am not
privy to what the governors came to discuss with
the national chairman in his office but I can assure
you they did not come to ask him to resign.”
None of the governors responded to inquiries from
journalists as they filed out of the party chairman’s
office into their vehicles.
After the meeting with governors, the APC national
chairman also met with Lawan and George Akume.

Powered by Hamton Media Concept


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s