Fayose declares solidarity strike with workers

Ekiti State Governor, Ayodele Fayose has embarked on an indefinite strike in solidarity with public workers in the state who are on strike over unpaid five months
salaries.
The governor made the declaration in Ado Ekiti in a broadcast on the state owned television in Ekiti State.
In the broadcast, the governor disclosed that he had paid the January salary of local
government workers, primary school teachers and subventions to tertiary institutions in the state.
Public workers had on May 26 began an industrial action to press home for the payment of their salaries. Labour unions also shunned a meeting
called by the state government, citing
insecurity of their lives and properties owing
to an anti-workers protest by drivers
unions in the state.
They were also irked by Fayose’s
statement that he won’t sell his family to
pay workers.
The governor in the broadcast said he had
been truthful in what he declared as the
internally generated revenue and the N2.6b
workers’ wage bill.
Fayose said, “I want to tell workers that I
have placed myself on indefinite strike in
solidarity with you. I share your pains, but
it was rather unfortunate that a man can’t
give what he doesn’t have.
“I have told you the true position of the
finances of the state, of which you had
played critical roles in allocation of federal
allocations to relevant sectors which shows
how well I had carried you along since the
dwindling revenue to the state commenced.
“During my first term, I mean, 2003 to
2006, I used to pay salary of workers by
21st of every month. But the present
situation is very unfortunate and we have
to learn how to live with it until the country
wriggle out of it and things will change for
better.
“I want to say that I will be expecting you
back to your offices when you are ready to
return to work. I shall be expecting you,
because presently I am handicapped and
there is nothing I can do.
“But before then, I have placed myself on
indefinite strike in solidarity with your
course. But I appeal that you put the
interest of the state above everything,
because the present position affects
everybody,” Fayose said.

Leave a Reply

